- Justice System
- Clerk's Office
- Marriage Licenses
To be married in the State of Indiana, a couple must have a marriage license. Before you apply for a marriage license, familiarize yourself with the process outlined below.
You can also download and print this information HERE.
Are you eligible to be married in Indiana?
To apply for a marriage license in Indiana, both you and your future spouse must appear in person at the Clerk's Office in an Indiana county where one of you resides. For out-of-state residents, apply for a license in the Indiana county where the marriage will be solemnized.
Age: The Clerk can issue a marriage license if:
- Both applicants are eighteen (18) years of age or older;
- Both individuals are at least sixteen (16) years of age;
- One (1) of the individuals is not more than four (4) years older than the other individual if the other individual is sixteen (16) or seventeen (17) years of age;
- Each individual who is less than eighteen (18) years of age must:
- be accompanied by both parents, or the person with legal custody, who must sign the consent portion of of the application, OR
- has been granted an order by a juvenile court under IC 31-11-7 granting the individual approval to marry and completely emancipating the individual.
Exclusions: The Clerk cannot issue a marriage license if:
- Either applicant is under the influence of drugs or alcohol when applying;
- Applicants are more closely related than second cousins (though there is an exception if you are first cousins and both at least sixty-five (65) years of age).
- Either applicant has been judged to be of unsound mind, unless the adjudication has been removed.
- Either applicant is a lifetime sex or violent offender, unless the individual submits an affidavit stating under the penalties of perjury that the individual has provided written notice of the person's (A) intent to marry, and (B) intended married name; to the local law enforcement authority in the county of conviction and in the person's county of residence.
When To Apply:
A marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date it is issued, and couples may be married as early as the same day. Couples who do not marry within the 60 days must apply for a new license before marrying.
What To Bring To The Clerk's Office:
Be sure to bring one of the following forms of identification to prove your identity, date of birth and residency:
- Current, valid drivers license or other state issued photo ID with date of birth and current address. with date of birth; OR
- Current, valid Passport with date of birth and current address;
- If the address on the drivers license, state ID or passport is not current, a current utility bill, mortgage or lease papers with the current address of residence must be presented;
- Social Security Number;
- Applicants under the age of 22 must also present a certified copy of their state issued birth certificate. Foreign birth certificates must be translated and notarized.
- If you were previously married, you will need to provide the date your marriage ended.
- Genealogical Information: The Clerk's Office will collect some family information from you that will be reported to the Indiana State Library (by law) for the purpose of genealogical research. You will need to provide the following for both parents:
- Full Name
- Last known address
- Birthplace (state or foreign country)
How Much It Costs:
The marriage license fee is $25.00 if one or both parties are Indiana residents and $65.00 for out-of-state residents. Some offices also charge an additional document fee of $4.00. Each copy of the Certified Marriage License (required for name change at BMV, SSN, etc.) is also $4.00. Fees may be paid in cash or by credit/debit card. If paid by credit/debit card, an additional $1.75 processing fee will be added.
Where To Apply:
Couples must appear together in person to for apply for a marriage license at:
- Clerk's Office, Records Division
- Porter County Courthouse
- 16 Lincolnway, Suite 211
- Valparaiso IN 46383
Hours are 8:30 AM to 4:00 PM. The Courthouse is closed on weekends and holidays. Please allow yourself AT LEAST 30 minutes to complete the application. You can shorten your visit BY COMPLETING THE APPLICATION ONLINE. Both parties must still appear at the Clerk's Office, but completing and submitting the online application in advance will save you time.
If you have an appointment to be married by a Judge (see below), please arrive at least one hour in advance to complete the application process.
Judge Christopher Buckley and Judge Mary DeBoer may conduct weddings in their courtrooms. Additional fees do apply. You MUST pre-schedule the date and time with the Judge. Their contact information is as follows:
- Judge Buckley's Office Phone Number: (219) 465-3412 or EMAIL HERE.
- Judge DeBoer's Office Phone Number: (219) 465-3425 or EMAIL HERE.